ROS 100 Year Celebration

ROS 100


Royal Oak Schools couldn't have been happier to be a part of the celebration for the city of Royal Oak's 100th birthday. The event took place on December 2 & 3 in the area of City Hall and the Police Station. Our booth was in the Farmer's Market. We showcased old Kimball band uniforms, pictures from Dondero, Keller Jr. High, and Whittier, "then and now" photo comparisons of some of the schools, yearbooks, and more. Special thanks to the Royal Oak Historical Society for loaning us their school display rack so people could browse through even more history and read about our schools through the years.

People in Booth

Rohs Flip Book Display

Booth at RO 100

A documentary featuring local residents, businesses, and students talking about the changes they've experienced from school activities to technology was produced for the event by Royal Oak Senior, Faye Pinho. "Faye began work on this project this past summer in August, by the time the school year began, she had already conducted and recorded several interviews," said Mike Conrad, Video Production Teacher at the high school. " Her dedication to the completion of this project was wonderful to watch. She really owned it. It is something that the school district, and the city of Royal Oak, should be proud of."

Faye did almost 100% of the shooting and editing for the production which premiered on WOAK on December 2. You can watch the documentary, "100 Years of Royal Oak Schools," on WOAK from your home or online with this link.


Nathaniel J. QuickstadNathaniel Quickstad (1932-1947)

James CovertJames C. Covert (1948-1962)

Donald CurrieDonald M. Currie (1962-1973)

Otto HufzigerOtto C. Hufziger (1973-1982)

Larry NicholsLarry Nichols (1982-1994)

Fritz EschFritz Esch (1994-1997)

Not pictured: William Pistono, Interim Superintendent 1997

Steven GaynorSteven Gaynor (1998-2002)

Thomas ShorkeyThomas B. Shorkey (Int. 2002, Superintendent 2003-05)

Thomas MolineThomas Moline (2005-2011)

Shawn Lewis LakinShawn Lewis-Lakin (2011-2017)

Mary Beth FitzpatrickMary Beth Fitzpatrick (2017-present)